Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

BAD ASS (2012) REVIEW 100 !!!!


Ok, here we are celebrating 100 reviews…..funny how time flies , isn`t it?

I wanna thank all my readers and everybody who stumbled on here by mistake or by clicking the pictures on this little blog.

I know I am far from beeing a really good review writer, although some of them came out pretty good, I think.

I don`t intend to reinvent the wheel with this blog, just sharing a little bit of  fun and tears regarding movies and maybe, on some occasion introduce you to a film you had no idea about before and ended up watching it cuz of my review?

I met awesome people already, and I hope to get to know a few more. Don`t hesitate to leave comments, feedback is very welcome.

At first I wanted to find a special film for the 100th review, but it`s impossible to choose, really. One is as good as the next I guess…..

I decided to go with Bad Ass, a pretty recent flick, featuring Danny Trejo. (possible spoilers ahead, but only a few)

He is in the business for ages now, started out  with little extra roles, and by now he is Machete.

Whenever a director needs a tough mexican, Trejo is the first they call….

So, Bad Ass it is:

A Vietnam veteran who becomes a local hero after saving a man from attackers on a city bus decides to take action when his best friend is murdered and the police show little interest in solving the crime.

Most of you will watch this, cuz you know and like Trejo, and if so you get what you came for, a full plate of Danny Trejo.

But this time he gets to play more than just a tough guy, this role allows him to show more than just the bad-ass mexican, although there is plenty of that, too. He gets to be sad, kind, furious and funny.

Let´s forget the fact that this is sorta based on a real-life incident,that happened a little different than portrayed here…that`s not important, it just served for the basic idea.

Frank Vega is a 60 years or so old vet, who  sells hot dogs on the street and does so for 40 years already.

He drinks, and life isn`t all too great. One day, on the bus he beats up two skinheads who molest the passengers. Someone records it and puts  it on Youtube. He gets famous for that and earns the nickname Bad Ass.  But that is only part of this movie, the sideshow  if you will. The real story is about his best friend Klondike(Harrison Page), who gets killed some time after the bus incident. Frank soon gets dissapointed with the police`s efforts to find the killer and  starts seeking his own answers.  I won`t spoil any more…but I will say that I truly enjoyed this, this was a fun ride, a movie that had everything: Comedy,action and a hint of drama. And it works very well together. Sometimes mixing genres ends up a mess, but here I think it works.When the film was over, I felt like I had a 3 or 4 course meal. A very satisfying  watch indeed.

I must say I enjoyed  Harrison Page immensely in this, he was the best thing in the Van Damme vechicle LIONHEART, and I was very happy to see him again here.

Gotta love him!!! He had little screen time, and it felt so wrong to kill him off so early.

The action  gets more towards the end, but don`t expect it to be another Machete. This movie has everything, as I stated before, it´s a  great vehicle for Trejo, showing off a little bit of a range here.

I can fully recommend this to anyone who feels sympathy towards Danny Trejo.

I was a bit surprised when I found out what kind of movies the director Craig Moss did before this, stuff like Breaking Wind, and similar movies, something I rarely choose to watch. He redeemed himself in my eyes with this, let´s hope he gets to do more quality work like it. The trailer here is a bit misleading, it´s not all action.

But you get to see a RED HEAT-like action scene, involving a bus!!!!

There is no question-Danny Trejo is a Bad Ass!!!!

3 responses

  1. Congrats on your 100th entry. Keep up the good work.

    Will have to check this out. Trejo is getting a really big career resurgence after Machete.

    June 12, 2012 at 11:23 AM

  2. Ty

    Congratulations on your 100th review! Keep up the great work!

    Bad Ass looks interesting. Will have to check it out.

    June 15, 2012 at 1:09 AM

  3. Congrats on your 100th post! I don’t even know how many I’ve done. Isn’t that funny? lol. I’ve heard nothing but good stuff about this one and as soon as its available over here, I’m all over it. Keep them coming buddy!

    June 16, 2012 at 9:23 PM

Leave a Reply

