Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

ULTRAVIOLET (2006)


Directed by Kurt Wimmer

Well, another Milla-fest!

A beautiful hemophage infected with a virus that gives her superhuman powers has to protect a boy in a futuristic world, who is thought to be carrying antigens that would destroy all hemophages.

This film is a Milla vehicle from start to finish, and I couldn`t ask for more. The film is severly flawed, yes, but there are multiple reasons for it, too.

Wimmer wasn`t allowed his final vision, the film`s FX weren`t even finished properly, and so it ended up a mess.

Not that it would`ve been   a masterpiece, but it might have been a more satisfying film.

The original lenght was about 2 hours, cut down to under 90 minutes. The unrated cut (not director´s cut), is about 7 minutes longer, a bit more fighting and plot, but still not saving it.(still includes some important scenes)

But if you didn`t like the theatrical version, you won`t like it more with the unrated. It only benefits the ones who already liked it, wanting more… and it should have  contained more blood and gore, it`s kinda tame in that department.

Despite that, I kinda have a soft spot for this film. And knowing it could have had upgraded FX and a more fleshed out story, hurts.

It`s still silly fun, often very easy on the eyes, at least mine. Mostly  due to sexy Milla, who I just love in about everything.

It is ridiculously colorful, maybe too much for some.

Kurt  Wimmer , again used the gun kata, seen before in Equlibrium, this time more fluently, as he intended already in Equilibrium, but his fight chorographer then , Jim Vickers, opted for a more rigid approach.

So, most of  the fuck up, that Ultraviolet ended up beeing, is due to the producers interference.

I am afraid that a director`s cut will probably never see the light of day.

But that`s the way things go these days ….

It is a mix of several films, if you will. Think Blade, Equilibrium, The Matrix etc.

It is not exactly original, but to me, has a high entertainment value. You could make me watch it anytime, I wouldn`t object.

There was even a moment when I felt for Milla( and her baby), even if the film doesn`t make you feel all that much for the characters.

But then again, I can be very sensitive at times. And Milla makes me sensitive, in more than one  spot.

Thankfully, Milla keeps making Resident Evil movies, so I get to watch her in even more zombie-dystopian-future films.

I`d like to see Wimmer get a proper budget and final say with one movie for once.

Until then he is busy writing screenplays for big budget movies, like Salt, Salt 2 and  Total Recall.

Visually, I love it, even with the evident FX issues sometimes. Look over substance, in this case.

But paired with Milla, this is a guilty pleasure of mine. This also wasn`t a proper review, I know…

more of a statement.

2 responses

  1. You know, I’ve always wanted to see this, I just never have for some reason. Maybe because I’ve never come across anyone who actually liked it. lol. Seems like something I’d dig though, so I will give it a shot someday. Thanks!

    April 18, 2012 at 10:55 PM

Leave a Reply

