Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

Anderson Silva: Like Water (2011) sports documentary UFC MMA


Directed by  Pablo Croce

When somebody gave me a screener of this, I was a bit reluctant at first, not knowing much about Silva, to be honest. My brother made me watch a fight with Silva, but I soon forgot about it, mainly cuz I am not really following the UFC or MMA in general. I have also seen some footage of him with Steven Segal, but like the fight it wasn`t something I would store in my brain under „important stuff“.

So I looked him up and eventually remembered seeing him before.

I also read a few other reviews about this and my interest grew.

This documentary follows Silva for about 6 months until the fight with Chael Sonnen in 2010.

Before, there has been some controversy about his last few fights, many people, and especially his boss at the UFC, President Dana White, were dissapointed with his performance.

His next opponent  is  Chael Sonnen, a wrestler –turned MMA fighter , who talks a lot of trash about him, something Silva doesn`t really engage in, much to the displeasure of Dana White, who would like him to promote the fight with a war of words between the two fighters.

Silva seems like a very down to earth guy, somebody who prefers to let his performance speak for itself. For the first time in his career, he leaves for the US to prepare and train.Before, he always trained in Brazil, his home country.

The very intimate portrayal shows him train, spending time with family and friends, talking about his childhood and his career. Then we have Chael Sonnen, trash-talking, White, who despite his criticism of Silva`s last few fights, still calls him the most talented fighter alive, and the ever-nearing showdown of the documentary, SILVA VS. SONNEN –UFC middle-weight championship title fight. We even get to see Steven Segal for a few shots here n there.

I couldn`t help but liking Silva, a really hard-training guy with a great sense for family and friends and a very talented fighter indeed.

Even if you are like me , who doesn`t follow the UFC or MMA in general, this is a sports documentary worth seeing.

One response

  1. Direct to Video Connoisseur

    I’m a pretty big Anderson Silva fan, so I’ll have to check this out. I think one of the things that has made it difficult for Silva is the fact that he doesn’t speak English well, which leaves him at a disadvantage from a PR standpoint. Still, an excellent fighter, one of the best ever.

    March 3, 2012 at 5:51 PM

Leave a Reply

