Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011) David Fincher


Ok, out of curiousit only have I watched this…I was sure that this couldn`t hold a candle to the original, and I was right.How could Fincher agree to make a remake?  That , I think, is below him, really.

But ok, what the hell…Hollywood is robbing good ideas from Asia and Europe for a long time now…every Euro-Hit, you can be sure , they will make a version for the US-market. Because subtitles or dubbing is something the american market has never really warmed up to, but is very common in Europe and other parts of the world.

Since you can buy the rights easily with the big pockets of Hollywood, that kind of  modus operandi won`t change in the near future, I`m afraid.

I won`t go too deep into it, because that would need some serious work, which I am not willing to invest here.

I`m sure somebody else will take on that challenge or it  has already been done.

First of all, Rooney Mara is outright ugly here , in the role of Lisbeth Salander. Noomi Rapace looks beautiful, even with a mohawk. She has eyes to drown in and a presence about her, that is captivating. Mara looks like an ugly , half-dead china  doll, with no  sexual appeal I could detect.

She and Craig had no chemistry , whatsoever…Nyqvist  may not be the sexiest man alive, but at least you could understand  that he was attracted to Rapace. Rapace was very likeable and believable, something that Mara was not. She was acting the part, but I didn`t believe it for a second. It is like the Nightmare remake, same story, different actor…not working. The opening sequence was a music video, like you would expect from a James Bond movie….I was thinkin..”What is This?”- For your Oil only? Totally unfitting, uncalled for opening. I guess, they wanted to open the movie in a cool way, paving the way for a cool, gothic-looking Mara, but it had nothing to do with the story-at all.

When you have seen the original trilogy, you can`t help but asking”Why?”…why remake it…it was perfectly done the first time around…why a lukewarm remake…but that`s Hollywood these days, money…no other reason.

Do yourself a favour and watch the originals, the long version….haven`t read the books, but I am sure they rule….and there is plenty that was left out..but that is normal when adapting for the screen.

I couldn`t find info about the budget of the originals, but I `m sure it was just a small portion in total, of what they spent on the first remake….will there be more, are they doing all three? Or is this it? I don`t know and I don`t care, cuz it won`t  be able to make me forget the originals… I didn`t like the score, either….the whole film was boring, of course..partly cuz I knew the story already….no more surprises or moments of  awe….it is just a little different, trying to be even darker. But that cannot be achieved just through the dark images, Fincher is known for…

In the end, once I`ve seen Rapace as Lisbeth,I wasn`t  able to warm up  to another actress plaing that part.

Plus, the sequels of the swedish trilogy came out fairly quick, which helped  a lot….if they are doing all three parts, it will take at least a year , til a second, and another year for the third part to arrive at cinemas. I am sure, the buzz will be lost by then. This isn`t LOTR. But most of all…

SEXY…..

NOT SEXY…….

Watch the originals, subtitles ain`t that  bad….and keep in mind, it was  made for TV, only the quality of it made it go to theatres. The great Noomi Rapace  and the great cast in general  makes  this so much better, money and A-list stars cannot undo this.

The original swedish title of the first novel was ” Men who hate women”.

A title, which describes the story of the first book very well, and also the whole backstory for Lisbeth Salander.

We are subjected to domestic abuse, rape, murder and human trafficking. A dark, disturbing trilogy, best comsumed in its original form.

6 responses

  1. being a bit possessive with “euro” version, heh? 🙂

    January 30, 2012 at 10:19 AM

  2. Its just my opinion, youre welcome to disagree…
    I feel it is an unnecessary remake.Plus, they didn`t choose a woman that can compete with Rapace.

    January 30, 2012 at 11:37 AM

  3. no, I’m just mocking you; I take your texts as personal opinion on things that you choose to present, not as hard core impersonal critique, and I like to read personal opinions, as biased as they might seem. And, don’t worry, I am amongst the first people to shout “US remake of a European filmmust be rubbish!!”.
    Both the books and Sweedish films got a lot of attention (well, at least amongst “genre audience”) here in Serbia, so that was a bit of a turn off for me (stupid, I know). But, actually, I cought part of the film when it was on TV couple of weeks ago, and it looked intriguing. I didn’t know it was made for TV – there’s nothing better than a good TV film.
    keep up the good work!!

    January 30, 2012 at 12:10 PM

  4. Jason Elizondo

    Man, I’m so torn between wanting to see this and thinking “why Fincher?”. I love the original, much more than it’s 2 sequels and thought it was perfect the way it was. For someone as talented and cutting edge as Fincher to do a remake of a film that only came out a few years ago was so odd. Based on the trailers alone, it looks good visually. But you’re right, I would probably be bored to death because it’s already a slow film, and like you said, you already know what’s gonna happen so there are no surprises to be had.

    I might see it when it hits DVD for sure, but I doubt I’ll spend any money to go to the theater. And I have to agree with you, I don’t find the new Lisbeth appealing at all. Rapace had a certain sex appeal, while Mara just looks weird as Lisbeth. It’s the haircut and the eyebrows I’m sure, but still. Great review buddy!

    January 30, 2012 at 6:54 PM

  5. Yep, im sure you will agree with most of my feelings on it, once you get a chance to see it. Fincher`s talent feels wasted, when all he can do is re-enact a plot, while changing only tiny bits here n there, his visual talent isn`t enough to make it an all new experience.

    January 30, 2012 at 7:33 PM

  6. Ty

    Don’t have much interest in the remake…The original Swedish version just came out two years ago! If it comes to our library, might watch it then.

    February 4, 2012 at 1:23 PM

Leave a Reply

