Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

What I watched this week…..


Before I totally forget what I have seen this week, I´ll try to write them down and comment on them, just a quick one.

Dr. Zhivago: For the first time ever I have seen the epic from Boris Pasternak brought to the silver screen:

From 1965, this movie should be seen by everybody. This was a real movie, not the stuff they sell us these days as epic and cult.

Directed by David Lean ( just look at his director`s resume), it stars Omar Sharif, Julie Christie, Sir Alec Guiness, Klaus Kinski(in a smaller role-but he is a madman worth watching),Geraldine Chaplin and Rod Steiger, among others….truly epic movie that kept me glued to the screen for 3 hours straight. I didn`t watch it before, guess I believed it to be boring….I was soo wrong!   Watch it, its worth every minute….As always, the book may be bigger and better, but it`s a wonderful epic watch.

Also, I have seen 2 and a half of the Trancers movies…the first two were really fun, while the third leaves a bit to be desired….but by then I was hooked and will watch them all, soon-til part 6.  Tim Thomersen is really fun to watch, especially in this role as Jack Deth..did you know he did stand-up comedy in the seventies? He  was hilarious…have a new-found respect for the guy…he definitely is more than the Pyun-mainstay I made him out to be,lol.

here that stand up I came across on youtube..its got 2 parts…

a must-watch-REALLY!

Yesterday I saw Wrong Turn 3, my brother wanted to see it, I soon realised that I have seen it before…and forgot about it, with good reason. While I enjoyed the first two very much, this felt pretty weak…guess I will watch part 4 just for research, to see if they can get any worse…

There is more..by accident I came across Temple Grandin, starring Claire Danes, who was great in this one…its a true story about an autistic woman, who  became –  despite her autism, one of the top scientists in the humane livestock handling industry.

Great film, it showed on arte tv, its not available in Germany on DVD…why- only god knows…Danes got critical acclaim for that role…she really is great in this.

I wanted to record this for my parents, but they happened to catch it.

Last, but not least..a french animation film…. from 2009

LASCARS

….its making fun of the hip hop and rap culture in france, or the kids , which all act like gangstas or at least are impressed with that kind of lifestyle…its a cancer , really..and its fun to watch them making fools of themselves…I got bellyhurt from this one ten minutes into the movie…

Sadly, the french are really uptight about subtitles..the official DVD got none…not even english. To watch this with subs, you will need to find a dvdrip with added subtitles…..but I assure you, it would well be worth it.

Thats all for today, folks…

2 responses

  1. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the Trancers series. Tim Thomerson is awesome in those movies. I think his stand-up career made him very adept at spewing out cool one liners.

    January 9, 2012 at 12:00 PM

  2. I watched the first Trancers film. Kind of a fun flick, but it didn’t really do enough for me to commit to the whole series. They’re on a lot in the UK on the outer reachers of our satellite movie channels. I feel that if I watch the 2nd one I’ll have to do the whole lot and I’m really not in that place. I’m staying where I am for now.

    January 13, 2012 at 1:31 PM

Leave a Reply

