Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

Oblivion (1994)


Directed by Sam Irvin ( Genre: Sci-Fi Western)

Actors: Richard Joseph Paul, Jackie Swanson, Andrew Divoff, Isaac Hayes, Julie Newmar
Director: Sam Irvin
Format: Color, DVD, NTSC, Widescreen
Language: English
Region: 1 (U.S. and Canada only)
Number of discs: 1
Rated: PG-13 (Parental Guidance Suggested)
Studio: Shout! Factory
DVD Release Date: July 5, 2011, of course ..just shortly before the new Cowboy &Aliens..haha…
Run Time: 94 minutes

I found another gem in the overly populated world of movies.

It is so hard to choose these days, when you basically can get your hands on any movie out there. The times , when your selection was based on the offerings of your local video store, are long over. I really have to search long and hard, reading blogs and forums, to stumble on movies I haven`t seen yet and look like they`re worth checking out. Everybody has their favourite genres and actors, which can lead to not seeing or dismissing  a lot of worthwhile films.  In the end , it may just be the fact that there are much more movies out there, than you could ever, ever see. That`s why I am happy, each time I come across a movie I should`ve seen ages ago. I remember the cover of this movie, my favourite video store actually had it in its selection, but I never grabbed it.

Now I came across it again, and this time I decided to give it a chance.

It features a few well-known b-movie actors and actresses, like Andrew Divoff and Meg  Foster( Terminator on tv right now in the background..yeahh Lance..lol).

Plot: Hmmm, yeah there is one,

first, it doesn`t take place on earth, judging from one shot into the night skye…even if it says  on the cover” In the year 3013, its Cowboys & Aliens”. I dunno..who cares….

a small western town gets terrorized by RED EYE and his henchmen. The sheriff dies in a confrontation with Red Eye, leaving the town without a protector.

The sheriff`s son Zack is a pacifist and doesn`t even live in Oblivion.

Unwilling to engage the evil-doers, he eventually must return to save Oblivion from Red Eye and his gang.

During the course of the movie he befriends a sort of Indian with a metal headband , the cyborg deputy(Meg Foster) and several other colorful characters, including George Takei as  Doc Valentine. Noteworthy as well is Gaunt, the undertaker, who just happens to know when and where the next death will ocurr ( Carel Struycken).

Man, I had fun with this one! The melting of the western and sci-fi genre really works well here. It allows for cyborgs and monsters in a world of cowboys, a pretty neat mix, even if I wasn`t overly impressed with Hollywood`s latest attempt on that. Further, it is sooo funny. The in-jokes and one-liners are priceless. Some of it was improvised, but the screenplay writer Peter David did a good job, as did the actors. They must`ve had a lot of fun on the set, or so I hope. The FX are cheap, but work well , just like the costumes. You could tell there wasn`t much money to work with, but they  made the best of it. Also, all the small details…they have ATMs, outdoor ceiling fans,and much more, its  a collection of WTF moments of the best kind. Really hard to describe , how rich this movie is. Go see it, I assure you, you won`t be  dissapointed, if you happen to like inspired fantasy b-movies, and can handle a belly hurting from laughing.

There even is a second part, made in 1996, which I yet have to see.

Actually , it ends with a “to be continued…..”, even if the story itself is pretty much resolved.

I have read a few other reviews, some love it, some hate it…I for one love it.

The fact that this is more a comedy than anything else might turn off some people, who would like it to be more serious.

Judge for yourself and let me know…..

2 responses

  1. First, I’d like to say that your reviews are getting better and better. 🙂 Keep it up! Second, I was actually going to watch this one in the next week or so. It’s on my list and at my disposal, just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. But I love it when a move surprises me and ends up being good. So based on your take on it, I’ll definitely check it out very soon!

    December 16, 2011 at 12:43 AM

  2. Cant wait for you review…and thanks for the compliment…I definitely am trying to get better at it….

    December 16, 2011 at 12:49 AM

Leave a Reply

