Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

Review – Lance Henriksen Bio- NOT BAD FOR A HUMAN


I just finished the book , my beautiful, big hardcover limited edition, complete with signatures of both Lance and Joseph Maddrey. Along with that, I even got a promo photo signed, that is already framed, hanging in the hallway.

I had to wait 6 long weeks for it to arrive, but it was well worth it.

To me, one of the most interesting actors of our time, I was extremely excited to read about a biography of this man. You could say, ” Well, at 70 years of age, it`s about time!”  But if Joseph Maddrey hadn`t asked Lance about it, during  the recording of the narration for “Nightmares in Red, White and Blue: The Evolution of the American Horrorfilm”, it might wouldn`t exist just yet.

He decided to go for it, and it turned out great.

I am tempted to copy and paste half the book, that`s how fascinated I am with the result. I finished 370 pages on two seperate nightly readings, reading 260 pages during my first night .

I haven`t read a book in quite a while. Movies are much easier to consume, of course. But I love biographies. If  it`s about an artist you like, you reach the last page very fast. The last time, I was able to finish it so quick, was the bio of Marilyn Manson, which is a fascinating read as well. The book only reinforced my admiration and respect for this man, who is easily as interesting as a human, as he is as an actor. If not more so. The stories and anecdotes he shares with the reader are plenty, funny, deep and heartwarming… Your expectations are met and excelled. It is so well-written and told, I dunno..I wish I could put it in more sophisticated words. Yet, there is no german translation of the book, I hope that might happen in the future, as I would love to give this away to friends and family alike. Luckily, I am able to read and understand english very well, so I am not one of those people missing a great read.

I really could add another 1000 words to this, but hey, go get it yourself, maybe even the limited edition hardcover , plus the signed photo, til the end of this year, the offer for the extra signed photo still stands….unless the 5000 copies are sold before that. Interestingly, on one of the opening pages, it says ” FUCK ISBN numbers..lol…nice touch.. it has no ISBN number..makes it even more special.

 

link to order the book:

http://notbadforahuman.com/

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. nice review Ingo !
    cheers
    Will
    p.s. definitely a nice touch to cold shoulder ISBN ( I snub book numbers)

    December 12, 2011 at 10:13 AM

  2. Nice. Will be picking up a copy of this for Christmas. Love Lance Henriksen’s work, particularly on Millennium.

    December 12, 2011 at 10:38 AM

  3. Good one man! I love good film related reading material, so this will be a must purchase soon.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:42 PM

Leave a Reply

