Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

THE THING 2011


DIRECTED BY

Matthijs van Heijningen Jr.

If I can say one thing about this…it is not necessary.

It is a movie, I could easily do without. There wasn`t a  a remake or prequel or sequel for all these  years, so why now?

By the way, i`m writing this on my old pc, which just a day ago would freeze just about instantly after reboot, so I dunno what I did that it`s working now…lets hope it remains this way. The netbook, my brother gave me for not losing the internet contact I find hard to write on…i`m just used to my old Logitech keyboard. Can`t write on anything else.

So, THE THING prequel…ist not bad, it`s ok. The effects are well done, overall a good movie. But I found the main  female character to be totally out of place. That main actress ain`t no Ripley…Overall, it doesn`t differ from Carpenters movie much, same old, same old…and that`s the main problem..I feel like I have seen this already, and done so well, it really needs no rehash…The only good thing about this I noticed, was the attention to detail. If you watch Carpenter`s THE THING right after this, you will notice , that they actually did the best they could to make this fit together well with Carpenter`s movie.

Except maybe for the spaceship, that here was  hidden deep in the ice, and if I remember correctly, the ship was visible from the surface in the Carpenter one.

Correct me, if I`m wrong. And the whole ship discovery itself wasn`t shown, maybe they keep that for deleted scenes or extended editions, who knows?

All in all, a movie that doesn`t need to exist.

One response

  1. Jason Elizondo

    You’re back!!! lol. That’s great. Great review buddy. I have no desire to see this. Everything I’ve heard and read leads me to believe it’s an unnecessary prequal/remake whatever. Why mess with perfection? Especially if you’re not going to offer anything new?! It just doesn’t make any sense to me that the filmmakers and the studios would greenlight something like this knowing how coveted Carpenter’s original is, unless you were doing something totally new and different, which they didn’t seem to do in this case. What a waste. Glad to see you’re back!

    November 27, 2011 at 7:54 PM

Leave a Reply

