Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

NAKED (1993)


Directed by Mike Leigh

The brilliant and controversial Naked, from director Mike Leigh, stars David Thewlis as Johnny, a charming and eloquent but relentlessly vicious drifter. Rejecting anyone who might care for him, the volcanic Johnny hurls himself around London on a nocturnal odyssey, colliding with a succession of other desperate and dispossessed people and scorching everyone in his path. With a virtuoso script and raw performances from Thewlis and costars Katrin Cartlidge and Lesley Sharp, Leigh’s depiction of England’s underbelly is an amalgam of black comedy and doomsday prophecy that took the best director and best actor prizes at the 1993 Cannes Film Festival.

***

Naked is the angriest, most bitterly critical attack on the false values of society that Mike Leigh, Britain’s constant chronicler of the tragic comedy of desperate lives, has ever made. Its audacity is that the attack is mounted through a central character of whom few would approve. Johnny (David Thewlis) is, in fact, a classic antihero, who blasts away at the hypocrisy inherent in the Britain of the immediate post-Thatcher era much like a latter-day version of John Osborne’s Jimmy Porter. Yet such is the power of the film that Leigh is also able to include, without in any way seeming to placate his audience, moments of compassion, gentleness, and humor, which prevent Naked from seeming merely a bilious, if gloriously eloquent, rant. It is not just that. In fact, it is one of the greatest, most memorable, if decidedly uncomfortable, British films not only of its decade but of the entire second half of the twentieth century.(Derek Malcolm) -found on dvdbeaver.com

As I was surfing the web lately, I came across a movie that sounded very interesting. It has lots and lots of raving reviews on imdb, and a main actor I like. But I am not always in the mood for an intense movie, such as this one. So I put it aside in my head, waiting for the right mood to come.

Then, today, I got news of a financial kind that made me feel sick. If I can`t stand something, it`s beeing strained financially. So I thought-„what the hell, I might as well watch a movie about  some fucked up people!“

Luckily, this film isn`t just all negative, it is also very funny and very intelligent. It is bleek and depressing , yes. But not enough so, that you are left depressed or empty after watching it. Maybe impressed, because this is one of the best films I have ever seen. This is no action movie, and no comedy, although there are plenty of laughs to have here.

It is a story of a guy, who seems to be fairly intelligent, and just as crazy and confused. He has no interest in work and no goal.He may have some kind of psychologival condition, but it`s never explained if he actually suffers from any kind of mental illness.At the same time, he seems far too intelligent for someone as useless as him.

I can`t write a review  half as good as anything I´ve come across on the imdb review pages, but yet I`ll try to explain it. Ok, so the film begins with him raping a woman, and he has to flee, in order to not get beaten up or worse.

Yet he is likeable….in a way.

He has  wit and engages people in conversations that are very personal and to the point , wasting no time beeing nice. But I really can`t do a write up on this, unless I wanna spend hours editing it…Just read a few of the reviews on IMDB, there are some great ones, which give you an idea how awesome this is.

Thewlis is owning this movie, it isn`t dull for a second

It is gutwrenching, funny, sad and so much more inbetween…I wouldn`t know where to begin.

This is a drama, but I´d say it is also badass cinema, for the acting of Thewlis alone.

I could try and go on about the human condition and stuff like that, but I am the wrong person to try and write something deep and intelligent.

Just watch the movie, I´m sure you won`t be dissapointed. That is, if you can appreaciate a good film, that digs a little deeper than usual.

Interesting about this as well-this was mostly improvised in long rehearsals, there was no normal script.

It is just how Mike Leigh works, maybe read his trivia on imdb.

One response

  1. I’ve read a lot of really good stuff about it, but never got around to it. What does the title “naked” refer to? I think I assumed it was going to be gratuitous or something and so maybe the title just threw me off?

    November 18, 2011 at 10:59 PM

Leave a Reply

