Cult-Trash-Badass-Cinema -and more…

The Boneyard 1991 short review


Directed by  James T. Cummins

Children turned into zombies wreak havoc in a coroner’s building with just a burned-out psychic, an experienced cop and two coroners to stop the madness.

Recently I got  a few gifts from a friend who is moving to the US soon,

Everything from games to posters, VHS tapes and a few DVDs…

One of the DVD titles was The Boneyard. Sadly it was just the german version.

But I got hold of the original version in English soon after, simply cuz the german dubbing

felt wrong for this one.

Some veteran actors and zombie kids, plus a zombie poodle peeked my interest.

It is a Video title, and probably didn`t get much attention. And it surely is not a great film, but interesting it was.

It starts out pretty slow, but picks up in the second half.

It reminded me of a lot of other flicks, only that some of those flicks came out even later.

It has an 80s feel to it, despite the fact that it was made in 1990, or 1991.

But close enough still…there are quite a few early 90s films that still had the 80s feel to it.

The direction or cinematography is nothing to write home about, but I found quite a few things I enjoyed. It is one of those films that I feel could have been much more, if you would`ve tweaked it a bit. The atmosphere saved the first half for me, and it only got better with time. I didn`t expect much, but enjoyed it for what it was…low-budget fun with some weird things  in there. I forgave the flaws it has in pacing , acting and story-wise.

It just was the right film to end my day. Phyliss Diller, I found out later, was a very well-known actress in the US, she only died this year , on August 20th 2012.

She plays the night desk clerk in the morgue, her name ? Miss Poopinplatz. Probably as funny for you as it is for me, somehow a mix of English and german. I think…Dunno if that does exist as a real name, probably not.

Anyway….If you wanna see something weird, yet charming, and have the hots for a zombie poodle that looks like something out of Braindead ( Dead Alive) then maybe you wanna give this a chance. The director is better known for his FX work, found a really interesting interview with him here.

Trailer below:

One response

  1. Ha! This sounds like it could be fun. I’ll need to check this one out sometime.

    September 20, 2012 at 12:24 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.